Dragonlance was one of my favorite book series when I was a kid, and it is responsible for my love of the fantasy genre. Over the years I have read some of the books multiple times, both in Italian (the language I spoke as a kid), and in English. The original trilogy was soon expanded into tens (hundreds?) of other books set in the same world. This page lists them all in a suggested reading order. Some of books may appear more than once when they belong to more than a subseries. I split the novels into two sets: the "core novels" the one you should start with, and the expanded universe novel, that provide extra background on the story characters and locations. I have greyed out the covers of the volumes of each series that I have not read yet, and colored in sepia the ones I am currently reading.
Note: this page is a work in progress / not complete yet.

Core Novels

These are the core novels (i.e. the one you should not skip) that provide the backbone to the entire book series. The books are traditionally broken into "eras", each era covering the adventures of the main heroes (and later on their descendents) over the centuries in the world of Krynn. Theya re listed here in suggested reading order (that is also the publication and chronological order).

Dragonlance (Core Novels)

Dragonlance is a shared universe created by Laura and Tracy Hickman, and expanded by Tracy Hickman and Margaret Weis under the direction of TSR, Inc. into a series of fantasy novels. The fictional Dragonlance world of Krynn contains numerous characters, an extensive timeline, and a detailed geography. The history of Krynn consists of five ages. The novels and related game products are primarily set in the fourth age, The Age of Despair. There are hundreds of novels set in this fictional world. I am listing here what are considered to be the "core novels".

Expanded Universe

These books and subseries provide background on some of the characters, location, and historical moment that appear or are mentioned in the core novel. Some of them are extremelly entrateining and as good as the core novels.

The Raistlin Chronicles

This duology follows the two brother Mejere from childhood to the beginning of the Chronicle trilogy saga.

The Lost Chronicles

Decades after the original Chronicle trilogy was published, the authors decided to write another trilogy telling the untold stories of the original trilogy. The original trilogy had some temporal gaps between each books, and these books tell what happened then. While not as good as the original trilogy, I loved meeting my childhood heroes again. If you loved dragonlance as a kid, you cannot skip these books. If you want to avoid spoilers, read these books AFTER the Chronicle AND legend Trilogies.

Kang's Regiment

A stand alone duology following a group of draconians after the end of the War of the Lance. In my opinion, this is one of the best Dragonlance subseries.

The Doom Brigade
Margaret Weis